Remember my pledge of allegiance fiasco?

The last two years of my school year, I refused to stand for the pledge at all due to my own personal reasons. I’d rather not let this turn into a political discussion, but if it does, then so be it.

I was refused access to computers during homeroom time, which meant little to nothing to me, due to the fact that homeroom was a good 15 minutes long, and I had 3 study halls that I spent doing tech support anyway. Of course I was ridiculed by the dipshits of the school who knew nothing of politics aside from what they heard from their parents, who knew next to nothing as well. A few other people didn’t stand, as well.

Well, after I graduated, I was relieved from thinking about it ever again, but the other night my mom came into my room almost laughing. She opened up the school’s new handbook for the 2005-2006 semester. They’d added a section about the pledge of allegiance. It reads as follows:

“<b>PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE</b>
The Pledge of Allegiance will be said each morning. Students are to stand quietly, place their right hand over their heart, and join in the pledge. The only exception considered will be for religious reasons. This exception must be in writing, signed by the parent/guardian and on file in the office.”

That is by far the LARGEST load of bullshit I’ve ever read. Not only is it going against the supreme court decision in the case of the West Virginia State Board of Education vs. Barnette [319 U.S. 624, 625], it’s also going against hundreds of other court decisions, such as the 1973 case that went to the US Court of Appeals about a child that contested the choice of either standing quietly, or leaving the room until the pledge was completed. They used this in my old school as well. The court sided with the student in both of these cases.