N64, GC, and now Revolution. Nintendo & Sega.

Who is better:

A. Super Mario Brothers
B. Sonic The Hedgehog

Alright, it is a joke. What I really want is to discuss is any Nintendo & SEGA expeirence that you guys and gals have.

SEGA was the only non-Nintendo system that I love due to the Sonic The Hedgehog games. 1/2 of my Gamecube games are SEGA:
Sonic Mega Collection
Sonic Gems Collection
Sonic Adventure DX
Sonic Adventure 2
Skies of Arcadia
Phastasy Star Online

Somehow, it is still weird to play Sonic The Hedgehog on an Nintendo console, due to the Battle of the Consoles in the 90’s.

“Want color, then buy our GameGear instead of the black-and-white GameBoy”
~SEGA Commerical with the GameBoy VS GameGear

“It is on the Super NES, not 32-Bits, and especially not on SEGA, it is made by Nintendo”
~Nintendo Donkey Kong Country Commerical

God, yes. Whenever I’m in my local game store and see Sonic for the Gamecube I shake my head. I was a soldier of the glorious Nintendo Army, and yearned for the ultimate conquest over Sega. But it would have been a far, far greater thing for Sega t have died than to be subjected like this. It’s just… wrong.

Let review the Nintendo 64 and GameCube, and see what changes will Nintendo be doing with the new console, Revolution.

Nintendo 64 (1996-2001)
Retail: $199.99 (1996)
Now: $39.99 (2006)

A problem was the start. It lost Squaresoft (SquareEnix), which equal no RPG’s. Sure enough you seen Mario and Zelda in 3-D, and fun puzzle games from RARE like Banjo Kazookie. What did Nintendo gain from 1996-2001?

GameCube (2001-2007)
Retail: $199.99 (2001)
Now: $99.99 (2006)