It's the Webcomic battle of the century! Or something.

Penny Arcade VS. Modest Destiny !!!

Apparently, some of the forumgoers of Penny Arcade have been using sprites from Modest Destiny as avatars.

The cartoonist of Modest Destiny DOES NOT LIKE THIS and has apparently shut off right-clicking to his site.

Oh… and he’s threatening to have PA shut down unless the offending avatars are dealt with.

But I’ll let you judge the merits for themselves.

PA’s Take:

MD’s Take:
http://www.squidi.net/

PErsonally I think the cartoonist of MD is full of shit. I’m not going to explain now, as I’m tired, and others will probably do it better than me. is half tempted to make an avatar out of his stuff and tell him about it

Hmm…

I am not a lawyer, but I believe what the forumers have done goes under the terms of “Fair use”…

Ok, PA isn’t loading for me right now, for some reason. But my take is, even if the MD guy does have a valid point, it has nothing to do with PA itself, and he’s kind of being an ass by trying to bring PA into it.

Shouldnt the MD guy be sueing the forum users instead? Just sounds like another attempt at cheap, undeserved money.

Originally posted by IonMage
Shouldnt the MD guy be sueing the forum users instead? Just sounds like another attempt at cheap, undeserved money.

Yes. Just like Squeenix should sue you for using Vivi as your avatar. -_-

Then you should be sued by half the globe for using one of their crops in your av! >_<

Well, according to PA, the only thing that looked kinda similar in the avatars were the feet, or something :stuck_out_tongue: Everything else was supposedly different.

I wouldn’t think he could sue unless he copyrighted them… I agree with Wert, though.

And Pierson, that really wasn’t a valid point. 'cause oranges aren’t copyrighted/trademarked for one. And he was making a point that if MD could sue for using those avvies, SquE could sue for using Vivi as his avvie.

Oh, and Cless, fix your sig. Your last line has a > in it.