Fuck we're old

FF7 came out 14 years ago. That’s half my life.

And I’ve been coming here since 2003. 8 years. Holy shit, I was 15 back then. Fifteen.

I always thought there’d be like, a second puberty or something, like a chemical rearrangement that made me into a grownup and turned on my responsibility instincts, just like the first one turned on my penis. One of the most shocking discoveries of my life was when it dawned on me that “grownups” were actually the exact same flavor of shithead as teenagers, just wearing suits and ties. It was like “Wait, so you don’t automatically know how to live responsibly once you hit 20? All those guys are just phoning it just like me?”.

Someone post that XKCD comic…

Dude Ser, you’re younger than me? Never realized that~

I’m 24. Almost all the games I like have been around more than 2/3 of my life.

Still, you’re only as old as you feel~

Hey look what I found!

14/08/2001

yes you may certainly build a shrine on this game, please send me an e-mail containing a link to where you’ll be building it.

Thanks again!
-Merlin

If I live to be 75 then a 3rd is over.

Damn

Merlin’s responsible for me being here too. I’d originally joined around 1998, but later gave up on RPGC during its long downtime–particularly after James Shaheen announced RPGShrines.com.

In the summer of 2002, I saw that the site was online again, so I submitted an essay on RPGs for the links page. Merlin responded with something to the effect of, “This is very interesting, and I tend to agree. I’ll certainly post your link. Also, you’re just about the oldest person I remember here, besides a few staff members. You should stop by the forums and say hi.” Nine years and hundreds of arguments later, here I am.