Zombie Play

I’ve finally decided to post it here. Remember that this is an original of Kenneth Rountree.

It’s going to be in several posts, so brace yourselves. Also: the formatting is going to look off. Don’t mind it, too much.

They Walk Among Us

CAST LIST-
LUCRETIA/AMELIA/SHANNON
ARTHURSON/CONRAD/MAN IN WHITE
NIGHT/FOLLOWER I/LAYLA
QUICK/MINISTER/JOSHUA
ROMERO/STEPHEN/CORY
RHOMBUS/FERNANDO/FOLLOWER II/TODD

SCENE ONE

(LIGHTS up on LUCRETIA sitting in a chair center stage. She wears a dark green shirt and jeans with flats. She is young and traditionally beautiful but unnaturally pale. She does not wear any jewelry or accessories on her body except for a watch which is more utilitarian than decorative.)

LUCRETIA (as if reading from a cue-card)

I was an ordinary college student, and then one day, it just happened. I became a zombie. I lost everything. I felt discriminated against everywhere I went. I was thrown out of college. I was shot at. People threw grenades at me. I couldn’t get a decent backrub. Vic Arthurson got me the help that I needed. He got me back in school, and he got me the money that I needed.

(LIGHTS up on ARTHURSON. He is wearing a nice suit, but not overly fancy and a conservative tie. He wears a moderately priced wedding band and an earnest, but serious face as accessories.)

ARTHURSON (as if talking into a camera)

Hi, I’m Vic Arthurson. Are you a zombie? Then you may be a victim of discrimination. Don’t put up with being stereotyped as “brainless,” a “shambler,” or “a soulless Hellpuppet.” You do not have to be chased around by maniacs wielding flamethrowers any longer. You do not have to take it. I have the highest success rate of any zombie defense lawyer in the United States, and I am willing to fight for you.

(ARTHURSON puts his hand on LUCRETIA’s shoulder. He tries not to look disgusted. She subtly cringes.)

ARTHURSON (continued)