One small step... for moi.

Good news: I am a published author now. Two short stories of mine are in a literary magazine. They informed me that they got chosen out of a record number of entries.

Bad news: That literary magazine is the Great Lake Review, which is SUNY Oswego’s literary magazine.

But hey, any publication is better than none. According to one of my professors, it looks really good on a resumé (at the very least) when you’re published in the GLR (she cited an example with a student of hers getting a fairly high profile job where the interviewer was impressed with her and hired her; it doesn’t necessarily follow that was the only factor or anything, but yeah). I’ve also been sending stuff out to other places, but I’ve only got rejections so far (especially from McSweeny’s- they’re really nice with their rejections).

So, I just wanted to gloat. Hi- gloating! :wave:

Dude, congrats! I’ve got a couple stories I might want to publish, but, well, none of them are finished, heh.

Huzzah! That’s great news :slight_smile: I’m very happy for you.

Congrats! When you get famous can I get you to write one of those witty quotes they put on novel covers for me saying how good the book is?

Something like:

“A double-helix of a good novel.”

“This is the ultimate book. One might call it the omni-novel.”

Congratulations! I bet your works are awesome. :slight_smile:

Congratulations. You deserve a co_Okie.

Hey, if Gloria Estefan can do it, so can you.

Congratz.I can’t think of anything to say,I’m having a mental block right now,sorry for not posting a witty comment.

So do we get scans or do we have to find a copy of your local magazine ourselves? :stuck_out_tongue:

Good. Next step is a book of your own.

congratulations.

Much congrat. I hope I can get published someday.