Number generators?

I’m looking for a simple number geneator program. What I’d like to be able to do is define two numbers, and the program will give me a number between those two. (WIth the two I named as possible answers.)

Does anyone know of a program like this?

Microsoft Visual Basic .NET can make a random numer generator program. How, I’m not quite sure. I just started learning the program myself. Heh, I’m in that class right now. We have to make a craps game.

You can do one in C++ in about 6 or 7 lines including input (max and min numbers).

#include <ctime>
#include <iostream>
#include <cstdio>

using namespace std;

int main(int argc, char *argv[]){

if (argc != 3){
cout << "Usage: " << argv[0] << " int1 int2
";
cout << "where int1 is minimum integer
";
cout << "and int2 is maximum integer
";
return 0;
}

srand(time(NULL));

int min, max;
sscanf(argv[1], “%d”, &min);
sscanf(argv[2], “%d”, &max);

int number = rand()%(max-min+1) + min;

cout << "The number between " << min << " and " << max << " is " << number << "
";

return 0;
}

Vorp forgot the input. and to call that last part. All that’ll do is tell you to input numbers and end.

Aw, I was making one too :stuck_out_tongue:

#include<stdio.h>
#include<time.h>
#include<stdlib.h>
#include<math.h>

void main () {

int repeat = 1;
int min = 0;
int max = 0;
int numr = 0;
srand(static_cast&lt;unsigned&gt;(time(0)));

while (repeat == 1)
{
	printf("Please put in a minimum! -&gt; ");
	scanf("%d", &min);

printf("Please put in a maximum! -&gt; ");
	scanf("%d", &max);
	max++;

numr = (rand()%(max-min) ) + ceil(min);

printf("

Your randomly generated number is -> %d

", numr);

printf("Try again?
  1. Yes 2. No
    “);
    scanf(”%d", &repeat);
    }

}

haven’t you people ever heard of cin and cout? What the hell is this scanf(); crap, it doesn’t even discard the input after it’s been read and causes infinite loops if you’re not careful. Just use the

#include <iostream.h>

header and save yourself the trouble.