Networking

I have a Cat 5e cross cable linking my 2 computers. Their firewalls are set to trust the range of IPs they’re in, they’re in the same work group, they can ping each other and both have LAN connections yet they don’t see each other on the network. Why?

By “they don’t see each other on the network”, do you mean the “Network Neighborhood” area on your desktop?

Is this the follow up the “transfer files” thread? You want to send files right?

And what version of Windows?

(I’m not too good with networking, but i’ll try to help you. Hopefully DS will come 'round)

Do you mean that they simply dont appear on the network neighbourhood or that they dont show any shared resources or are unable to be browsed?

Also are you using the simple file sharing or have you disabled it for the more Win2K style interface?

If they ping then its a windows setting causing the issue

Ahh screw it, im going to do it anyway and go whole hog.

First things first.

Open up a command prompt and type “net view”
This will bring up a list of all connected clients as specified by the Master Browser.
If only your comp is visable on it (which is rather likely), close the command prompt and open an exploer window (not internet explorer), something like “My Computer”. Click in the address bar and type in //ipnumber

In your case I think its //192.168.0.57 or something
The ip you should type in is that of the OTHER computer, not yours :stuck_out_tongue:
If this works, then you have a Master Browser issue, which can be safely ignored by mapping the //ipnumber to a drive letter and just using that in future.

If that doesnt work, Ive got to go to a meeting so ill give you part 2 later this evening :stuck_out_tongue: