I reported my employer to the IRS

As many (most? all?) of you know, I’m an attorney. I have been with the same firm since May 2012. Or, well, I was with them through 4 PM January 13, 2017.

As background, I have wanted to be an attorney for quite a while, since high school in fact. During the 2008 recession, the legal industry was hit hard. Come graduation from law school in 2011, I did not have a job. I was unemployed for 51 weeks from graduation until I started with my last job. I was very depressed and in a rather dark place during all that, burdened with thoughts regarding self-worth and the like. I think part of my actions (or rather inactions) detailed below were in response to a fear of not wanting to be unemployed again, not wanting to slip back into those dark times. I had reasons to quit, but I wanted to have something to go to - a new job.

The firm I was with specialized in labor and employment law. More specifically, it specialized in representing labor unions and employee-side employment law. It prided itself on fighting for the little man against the abuses and greed of evil management. Turns out, they were hypocrites.

When I was hired, they represented the job as being an associate attorney position. During the entire hiring process (job listing, interview, initial hire, post hire, etc) they represented the job as your normal employer-employee relationship. It turns out, though, and unbeknownst to me for too long, they were misclassifying me as an independent contractor.