I can't play Metal Gear anymore

Somewhat of a continuation of my “I don’t like JRPGs” rant, but…

A few days ago, I started playing Splinter Cell: Double Agent after a LONG break. After a few hours of play, I found myself transitioning perfectly into the stealth genre once again, and decided to celebrate by firing up MGS and MGS2, the very first stealth games I ever played. (I hated MGS3, so I never bought it.)

I couldn’t stand them.

It’s not just because of how old the games are, it’s something else. Forgive me for saying this, but I can’t stand Hideo Kojima’s stories anymore. They’re gargantuan in scope, but also ungodly impossible to follow, filled with more plot holes and loose ends than a disintegrating sweater, and generally feel like something someone dreamed up while under the infleunce of a LOT of pot and LSD. This was kind of the thing that REALLY turned me off to MGS3: ten minutes of gameplay, two fucking hours of cutscenes and political ramblings.

Furthermore, the games barely qualify as stealth. The game arms you to the teeth with every damn gun in existence, gives you a shitload of ammo, makes the guards fucking blind, and places you on an almost straight line to the target. Once again, let’s compare to Splinter Cell. In those games, you get some big guns, but god help you if you try to kill everything unless the game tells you to. The guards have somewhat better eyesight, in that they can see you from more than five feet away in broad daylight, which means you really HAVE to stick to hiding to survive. Missions are larger in size, with multiple side areas and sub-objectives to complete.

I know it’s not exactly fair to compare the two, but I’m just repulsed by Metal Gear. The series really isn’t the pinnacle of stealth gaming anymore. So long, PS3, I no longer have a reason to buy you.

I find MGS to be a less satisfying stealth experience than invading the Gerudo Fortress in Ocarina of Time.

That said, imo, MGS blows and has blown since day one.