I can't download anything on my new laptop...

I bought a new Dell Inspiron. I can’t seem to download anything.
I cant even get it to get me firefox. So I am stuck with IE, which I hate.
I need to be able to save files from the website for my school.
I would also like to be able to do other things, like download torrents, which is impossible right now.
I checked the settings in IE, and downloading is supposed to be enabled.
I am not good at computers.
Help?

Hmm…that sounds odd, but fixable by all means.

How do you connect to the Internet? By wireless or directly to the router?
What happens when you do try to download something? Error box or nothing?
Do you have a Firewall or Virus Scanner? If so, what brand? It’s possible these could be causing issues.

My computer came w/ 15 months of Mcafee. I made sure the firewall for that and windows firewall was off. Things act like they’re downloading, like, I can click download, then run to install something. Then, it just goes poof. If I try to save it it acts like it works then fucks up.

I have a wireless router. I can browse the interwebs okay.

If I try to use Utorrent, for example, I can click to download a torrrent from piratebay and it just wont show up. if i try to save the torrent, it will show up as saved. then if i try to click add torrent it will say cannot save c:/gnjkdsfgkhwhgrgh.torrent or something to the effect.

I only care about that because I dont have $100 to but Word for my new computer. I had Word on my old one.I need it for school.

You’ll need to right-click on the thing you want to download, choose “Save Target As” and then save it to where you want it. The one-click downloads for IE on the Ispirons send them to a temp folder, preventing one-click program installations or saves.