Ask me about working in a group home

Crossposted from the SA forums.

I work as a facility manager in a group home for juvenile delinquents on probation.

Each house has up to six boys in at at any one time. It’s rare to have the same group for long periods of time since boys are always getting transferred, terminated, graduating, or going AWOL. The boys are aged 12-18, and are in for crimes like gang involvement, car theft, drug dealing, sex offenses, robbery, and assault. All of them have spent time in Juvenile Hall (Hereafter: “The hall”). My company runs 6 or 7 houses at a time with one house containing teenage girls who I have never worked with (thank God).

The boys are by far the most interesting part of the job. You have to get to know them fairly well before you realize how alien a lot of their thought patterns are to normal law abiding people. I’ll try to elaborate more on this as people ask questions since the topic is so broad, and I can post some stories that show how obsessed they are with machismo, a lack of responsibility amounting to obliviousness, and a sometimes shocking lack of empathy.

The homes are ordinary suburban homes, and while they tend to front busy streets, you would never be able to pick them out from any other home. The houses tend to be old 1 story 4 bedroom homes. The boys shack up 2 to a room and I have a private office/bedroom. All the cleaning and cooking is done by the boys. There is cable TV and a computer with no internet in the living room. The houses have a thousand and one rules that the boys need to obey, and if we enforced every rule no’one would finish the program. This ranges from obvious things like no smoking to things like: no opening the fridge without permission.