Wild Arms 3

So, I started playing this game yesterday and I’ve got to say I’m REALLY enjoying it so far…

My question is, how does this game stack up to wild arms (original) as well as other ps2 rpgs?

Length?

Story?

I’ve just obtained the first set of 4 guardians so I’ve not played very far into the game yet.

Any input would be awesome.

WA3 = Great Opening theme, but never really captures the romance, vastness, wonder, and western feel of the original.

Really? I thought WA3 captured the Western feel far better than the original. Having it all take place in a desert helps, of course. I always felt the original WA diluted the Western theme with too much “regular fantasy”.

Storywise, it’s nowhere near as good as WA1 (pretty awful actually), but gameplay-wise it can be a lot more fun. Length is variable depending on how many sidequests you want to do (there are LOTS). Some sidequests are fun, some are excruciatingly boring. There are about 25 dungeons, each being about half an hour to an hour, rather than a smaller number of huge ones, so the pace is pretty quick and the world is huge.

The diluted western theme was what I was going for. Pure western, IMO, is pretty damn horrible.

I loved the technofantasy setting, if you can call it that. It’s hard to describe, but it’s what stuff like Escaflowne uses, as well. With stuff like golems and other advanced machines, but in a fantasy setting. Really tough to describe, but I just eat it up.

I’ve been wanting more western stuff lately. I played and enjoyed Red Dead Revolver because it was western. The theme of gameplay is just different to me and hasnt been touched on enough in games. I’m glad WA3 is ultra western.