What have you done to yourselves!

A recent bitchfest in a certain soccer thread got me wondering: What have you done with your life? I’m sure you guys know about each others business, but I don’t.

If you are wondering about me, I am shaping up to be either a basement crawler, or a homeless.

I almost ruined my life because when I went to College I couldn’t stand the pressure and had a nervous breakdown. By the time I recovered I had to work for a living, so I never finished college properly. I ended up working as an assistant welder/construction worker for about 20 years. Then I developed epilepsy and had to give THAT up too. I’m currently a translator, which is a cute way of saying that I make some occasional money by writing stuff in English for other people.

On the other hand, I HAVE self-educated myself (mostly because I’ve always been a voracious reader) and quite honestly I don’t feel the need to finish College, at least not for its own sake. However I am trying to get the credits I need for a better-paying desk-type job that I could safely work at. I’m currently applying for a grant for people with impediments to help me pay for it. Wish me luck. :wink:

I went to a med school interview and the first thing I screamed was “I know SINISTRAL FROM RPGCLASSICS!!!”. They stared at my wild-eyed, spittle-covered, unshaven face and after a moment, they were like “SON. YOU ARE IN.”

I’m a Fine Arts major.

Soon as I graduate, I have the aspiration of one day being able to look at an art director from a high-profile company and say, “…would you like fries or onion rings with that?”

Ask me again when I’m 40. by then, I’ll have lived long enough to hopefully have a (un)satisfactory answer.

Look buddy, (next year)
I’m an engineer. (Of digital communications)

That means I solve problems.
Not problems like “what is beauty?”, because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy.

I solve practical problems.