Top Ten Update

About a year ago, I posted an article was released on the top ten most scientifically inaccurate movies. Due to absurdities in films since then, the list has been updated. Check it out here!

I especially like the suggested solution for The Matrix.

Good, I always suspected Heart of the Dragon was scientifically accurate.

Heh, I find these lists fun. I think movies like these say much about the current general public’s knowledge. I’m no scientist, and I realized perfectly well that there’s no air in space for those explosions in “Star Wars” to sound so thunderous when I saw it as a kid. On the other hand, there’s such a thing as artistic license- and who wants to listen to silent space battles anyway? :wink:

Personally, I’m of the opinon that since we don’t really travel through space there could be elements that create explosions in space that are used for space flight.

Oh, thank goodness for this list. Without it, I would never have known that Indy 4 was scientifically inaccurate!

So, the list was updated due to only one film being released in the last year.

A film which isn’t meant to be taken seriously in any way and is a nod to pulp serials of a bygone era.

Okay.

This kind of lists reminds me of an article that I came across a while ago, mentioning a relatively new SF sub-genre: Mundane SF claims to bring “the scientific rigor and intellectual honesty” to the genre.
The advocates of Mundane SF assert that most of the mainstream Sci-Fi tropes should be reassigned to the Fantasy genre. FTL, aliens, computer consciousness, immortality, mind uploading, teleportation, time travel could be incorporated in the same realms as dragons and magic.
And to follow the scientific rules, we are stuck within this solar system. Oh, how mundane…