The Reality of Fiction

(This was my final paper for Philosophy. Do not fret, it is anything but dry; I thought many of you would enjoy it.)

“I don’t believe anything, but I have many suspicions.” - Robert Anton Wilson

My name is Samantha Dickinson (you can call me Sam).  You might find this surprising, considering that the name above this paper is “Kenneth Rountree,” but this is most certainly a falsehood, although it is also a truth.  I am a writer. Ken, as he prefers to be called, is one of my characters (Did I not cleverly name him?  Ken means “born of fire,” and his middle name [Arthur] means “noble.”  Don’t they explain his spark and arrogance quite well?).  It is particularly sad, though, because this character is deluded enough to think not only that he is real, but that I am the fictional character.  This is exactly why I am writing through him today.  Although nobody can prove that Ken is or is not a fictional character, I can certainly raise doubts.