The case of the missing post counts

The name is Nick Malone, some say I’m a professional snoop, others say I’m a private eye, but when you take away the formalities I’m the man you go to when you’ve got a problem and the police could care two tics from Tuesday about it. I’m what you call a “cliché’” tan fedora, black tie, suspenders, and a dim lit office that’s perpetually filled with smoke. I keep two magnums on my desk, one’s a gun and I keep it loaded, the other is a bottle and it keeps me loaded. I’m your classic PI, a bastard with a checkered past, and a constant supply of playing cards to skillfully toss into a hat during slow days.

It was a day like any other; I was reclined in my chair, tossing cards into hats as I usually do from 9 till noon when he walked in. He was the weak willed sorts, had a 5 o’clock shadow at 11 am, either that or he forgot to shave. He had a suit and tie on, as was the style, but he didn’t wear it well, looked like it was hanging off his body. Probably spend a nickel on it at a thrift store and had enough to take the train home and order a blue plate special at Joe’s for dinner. Dame problems no doubt, it’s always a dame. Cheating wife is the usual case, but every so often we get a creep that wants the skinny on a dame he used to know in grammar school. You get a lot of creeps in this line of work, but it beats waiting in the bread line.

I tell him to sit down and ask what his story is. “Dame got you down?” I ask
“No, well, I guess it could be dame related if I think about it, just not right at the moment,” he replies.

This kid liked to beat around the bush, so I tried to oil the wheels with a little motivation. “Listen kid,” I said “I don’t go to where you work and slap the dick out of your mouth, now tell me your problem or you can go back to the police and have them turn you down again.”

“Okay, well, it’s my e-penis.”