Tetra Master

I just started playing FF9 on my PS2. This game isn’t completely and utterly foreign to me, since I played a bit of it on my computer via emulation. My problem is that I don’t understand how the card battles work in Tetra Master. I’m clear on the principles of the game, but I’d really like it if someone could explain the numbers and letters on the cards along with how the battles work in terms I can understand.

Umm, let me just type out the explanation my guide has, since i don’t fully understand it myself:

The First Number’s the card’s atack power in hexidecimal, from 0 to E, E being the highest.

The second statistic is the card’s attack type. P is physical, M is magical, X attacks the lowest defense number, A attacks the lowest defense number on the card.

The Third number is the card’s physical defense in hexidecimal. The Final number is the card’s Magical defense in hexidecimal.

Hope that helps.

I know basically what hexadecimal is, but I don’t know anything about it. Help please?

Please don’t laugh too hard at the college graduate who doesn’t know about hexadecimal.

Has something to do with te number 16, that’s all I know.

Val’s right. Hexadecimal is basically values from 0-16, with letters being 10 and up. The way the battles works is that the higher numbers generally can beat a low defense and such. However, there’s a certain amount of randomness that can be quite deadly in this game. I’ve had airship cards lose to level 1 monsters. The way battling works is that after you beat a card, you flip any other enemy card that the flipped card’s arrows touch. The arrows therefore present a blessing and a curse- you can attack more cards with them, but you’ve also got the chance to cause great damage to your own cards. Did that help?

Basically, the more Attack power your card has, the more damage it CAN deal. It’s not a SET amount of damage. Naturally, defense lowers the damage dealt.