Tactics!!!

I just started playing FF Tactics again for like the 400th time.

God I love this game.

The job system is just so intricate and awesome. And the story is great too!

So anyway, this time around I’ve decided not to use any of the special characters, except maybe Cloud. Orlandu is just too damn good. It makes the game too easy.

So I am sticking to the generic characters only this time around. And I’m checking out a few of the jobs that I ignored on previous play-thrus.

Dancer- Just got one of these. Seems cool now but doesn’t really do much.
Calculator- Seemed way too complicated before but I’m willing to try it out.
Mediator- I never was interested in recruiting monsters before, but maybe this time.

Math Skill = Instant win. That is all you need to know about calculators. CT4 or 5 Holy with your whole party in chameleon robes will take all the fun out of the game.

Yeah, Calculator takes a long time to build up, but once you do it’s a powerhouse.
Mediator is probably the most interesting job that’s entirely non-essential. Monsters can be pretty powerful, but it’s a big pain recruiting all of them, so most of us don’t bother. ^^;

The calculator job on it’s own is garbage though. Worst speed in the game, pitiful MA for a mage class, poor stats across the board really.

In case you haven’t tried, as cheap as it may be the Monk is one of the best classes early on, esp. for Ramza. The Dancer is awesome as a secondary skill, it’s able to deal damage to everyone no matter the location. It may not seem like much but it makes a hell of a difference after a few rounds, especially if you have more than one Dancer at the same time.

BTW, I still have that huge-ass list on what’s my ultimate party for the game in case anyone wants to know <–Wants to get in a powergaming discussion.

Wiznaibus + Sunken State = Invincible Asskicking Dancer