So I am a teacher now.

My first big-person job, a big step for me.

I got the offer from the English institute I went to for the last three years and even though I haven’t even discussed the pay yet, I took it immediately for a number of reasons: It’s a very good opportunity for a stable gig, it’s a very RARE opportunity, the environment is as friendly as it gets, my ex-teacher-now-boss adores me and there’s really no one hiring anywhere else for anything. Besides, it’s only two hours a week per group, and I doubt I’ll take more than three, so it allows me to attend University (I’m starting next Monday, by the way) with no problems.

I’ll simply be instructing intermediate-level students on basic stuff like grammar, pronunciation and all that, so it shouldn’t be too complicated even for someone so completely inexperienced as me. The one thing that feels awkward is that my students will be very possibly near my age or even higher, as there are some adults taking courses too.

When I consider that I’m going to start University AND this job at the same time, it really scares me a bit since it’s so much at once, but I’ll just have to see how it goes. Either it’s going to be interesting.

So… yeah.

Cool. Congratulations.

Are you studying to become a teacher in school? Do you plan on getting a degree in education?

My best friend is a high school teacher. He loves it. It is very rewarding work. And when he first started, he wasn’t much more than 4 years older than some of the kids he was teaching. I don’t think the age differece, or lack thereof, will be a problem for you. As long as you seem to know what you’re doing, they will respect you.

Heey, congrats :slight_smile: That’s really neat. It may be tough to work and go to the university at the same time, but if it’s only a few hours a week you should be okay. Good luck!

Congratulations.

It’ll pass once you realize it’s actually a fairly common phenomenom once you get past obligatory education.