Potential Texas Governor proposes 50% tax on Soda, Video Games

As a Texas resident, I can CLEARLY say that I’m NOT voting for this guy, no matter what.

[quote=<A HREF=“http://www.1up.com/do/newsStory?cId=3147454”>1UP.com News Article</A>]<B><BIG>50% Tax On Games?</BIG>
• Gov. hopeful wants new meaning to “everything is bigger in Texas.”</B>

Imagine you’re in Texas and really excited to pick up Grand Theft Auto. Doesn’t matter which one. You’ve saved up your lunch money for months, but something is wrong - the price is much higher thanks to a new tax law. 50% higher, in fact! This is the future Star Locke, gubernatorial candidate in the state of Texas, envisions.

Locke, according to The Amarillo Globe News, wants “to do away with property taxes statewide” while taxing “violent games” and a myriad of other things (i.e. abortions and soft drinks) a whopping 50%. He sees these taxes as “the power to destroy. So our concept is that we need to tax things we don’t want and you want to not tax things you want to encourage.”

He stated that games would be deemed “violent” by a 10-member committee, and taxes would “be levied swiftly” against game publishers. While none of this is final, gamers of voting age in Texas who’d like to keep their games from being even more expensive have a chance to make their opinion heard during the state’s elections in March.[/quote]

An insult to the name.

Have you seen his site? Yeah. He’s a nutjob.

How likely is it that this guy has a chance in the election?

on the brightside, he wants to do away with property taxes. But I don’t think he’ll be getting my vote.

His chances are pretty slim, he’ll be vying for the Republican nomination against Rick Perry, who was GWB’s Lieutentant Governor when GWB was still Governor. I don’t like Perry either, but the odds of Star Locke getting the bid over Perry are slim to none. Of course, I’ll be voting Democrat anyway.