Picking a PC Gamepad

Just recently I got a ROM of OoT: Master Quest just for the sake of nostalgia and checking out whatever they did to the dungeons. Not to crazy about the changes, honestly.

Another thing I noticed is that the generic shitty gamepad I’ve been using for a while lacks responsiveness in half the buttons and that the analog stick has a weird habit of regsitering movements I did not make, which turns Link into a retarded spastic. It’s actually kinda funny to watch, but it makes aiming a complete bitch.

So I figured I’d better start looking for a replacement that costs more than fifteen bucks. Everyone and their mother I know is suggesting I go for the Xbox 360 pad, but I wanted another opinion just in case. What do you guys use?

I got this USB adapter from Radio Shack that lets me use a PSX or PS2 controller. Only ten bucks, and I’ve never had any issues with it.

I am not a fan of the PSX converted. I have one. It kinda works. The Xbox controller is a quality, sturdy controller unlike the majority of the crap out there. It is a bit pricey for what you wanna do though. Unless you really plan to use the controller for all kinds of things online, it may be better to get a cheapie.

The sturdy part is my main concern. Every controller I had till now worked fine, but only for a little while. Because of the ungodly price of consoles down here, I tend to emulate as much as possible, and given the new machine I just recently bought, I forsee giving the thing a whole lot of use. Also, I’m absolutely frantic with the stick while playing fighters. I think my current pad’s stick broke while playing Act Cadenza.

How’s the sensitivity of stick in the 360? Another problem I recently noticed with my pad is that the stick is a bit heavy, so making precision moves is difficult because I need to use more or less strength depending how much I tilt it.