New to this, but...

I know I know. USE THE SEARCH OPTION!!! But there were more than 31 pages and I don’t have time to go through all that.

I am new to FF. I have heard so much about this game and have finally decided to get into it. I am an huge RPG player and want to start any series from the exact beginning and take the game exactly as it was meant to be played. Now i’ve seen that there are different versions, Japanese and American, also that FFIII(?) is the same as IV in japan? I don’t know, this is what confuses me. If there is somewhere on the actual site that explains the order and systems I should play these games on, than please point me towards that area. I tried looking for it but couldn’t find it there.

Thank you in advance.

Mach: Just go to our Final Fantasy Compendium site, it should clear up ALL your doubts!

http://www.ffcompendium.com/low/index-frames.shtml

http://www.ffcompendium.com/h/release.shtml

Note that the games in the FF series really aren’t connected by more than general gameplay, some monsters, spells, etc. The actual stories are completely unique, and the original games play very differently from later ones. Still, it’s very admirable for you to start at the beginning. :sunglasses: Note that every one of the first 10 FF games are available for PSX or PS2, with the exception of FF3, which has never officially been released in English or on any systems other than NES. You can play it on an NES emulator in English, though.

There is actually a site with more ff knowledge than you need, but I’m too lazy to link it.
FF1- released many times in english and japanese, newest rerelease of it is in ff origions for PS
ff2- pretty much the same deal as ff1 I think. Newest version of it in FF Origions. A bit of a black sheep since it has a strange way of leveling.
FF3- One of the best in my opinion. you’re only going to find this in japanese for the nes or a english rom for it.