My systems: A look back...

Being incredibly bored, and still brainstorming about the next chapters in the two fics for today (I got back early! YAY!), I decided to make a thread about the history of the systems you’ve had. I’ll start first:

System 1: Atari 2600

Actually, my parents bought this, since it had games they actually liked (Centipede, Pac-Man, ET-wait, erase that one!). When I was about four, I started playing with it, and got hooked.

I still remember that joystick, simple yet functional, unlike today’s monstrosities. The games were very addicting, ESPECIALY Centipede (it’s still among my favorites). I didn’t play Pac-Man as much then, although I jammed out with it later on in the arcades.

Sadly, this ends on a bad note. One day, I played the system for so long that the circutry fried, destroying it. I cried and cried for days. The 2600 ended up in the trash, but not before I got my next system for Christmas…

System 2: NES

When I was five, I got this baby. I had Dad hook it up, put in Mario Bros., and turned it on. My life hasn’t been the same since.

The NES was a godsend, plain and simple. I only got four games for it (Super Mario Bros./Duck Hunt, Micky Mousecapade, Super Mario Bros. 3, and some Sesame Street game that really belonged to my brother), but I wore the living hell out of them. I especially loved Super Mario Bros. 3, despite the fact that I NEVER beat it (I came close once, but my cat walked up and pushed her head against the reset button).

I skipped the 16-bit era, since my parents refused to get me a SNES or Genesis. However, I did get my first handheld a few years later…

System 3: Game Gear

The Game Gear drew me in through color graphics. I’m not ashamed to say that, as I still say the Game Gear beat the Game Boy on several levels. Not only were the graphics better, but the screen was actually viewable, the games were a lot better than the crap Nintendo packaged, and it had Sonic.