Just finished filming a movie

I just got back from filming a short movie, and I’ve decided to share the experience with all you peoples.

Just for reference, I’m a New Media student at the illustrious Ryerson University, and was part of production team that consisted of two of my classmates, a student from Trebas Institute and a whole shitload of friends/acquaintances who volunteered as actors. The film is for a short film festival run by ZED called Zero to Sixty, and can be between 60 - 120 seconds long.

I’m not going to tell you the details of the plot right now (we’re keeping it pretty secret until release), but it does involve a stabbing and a LOT of changes of perspective. The working title of the film is “Between Beginnings”, and I’ll show you some of the stuff that goes into student movie making. I was essentially the “director of photography”, so I have lots of pictures to show.

The first day of the shoot was pretty uneventful. We did some of the first bedroom shots and figured out how to use operate the fancy shmancy Panasonic AG-DVX100A digital camera. It shoots digital video that rivals film quality, so we were pretty happy with some of the shots. On the left we have Alon shooting with the camera, and on the floor is Nick who is watcing the live feed through his laptop.

Now the second day was a little trickier. We had to film in an alleyway for most of the shots, so we had talked to a manager at a plaza up in Aurora and he gave us the “go ahead” to shoot there. Unfortunately, he neglected to give us any paperwork… One of the shop owners got really pissed that we were filming in front of his establishment, and called the police on us when he found out we didn’t have written consent. Apparently York region police are really bored too, because they sent THREE cruisers.