IT Careers

Hi Guys,

As you guys may know, I’ve developed a passion for computers and hardware in particular. I’ve been wandering though… what are good career paths in this field? (say IT in general) What are good avenues to take on?.. I’m considering everything (money, learning curves, etc…)

I just want to hear from anyone’s past experiences!

Are you in college?

How old are you? What is your education level?

This website has all the information you need to know for achieving a career in IT.

http://tinyurl.com/6x889kv

looks fishy…

Yeah, in my final year.

21 and I’m in my final year of completing an undergraduate degree in design. However I’m just curious about any really good possible opportunities in IT!

I’m not surprised that you missed my point… xD

You missed my point.

IT is a huge field with many things you can do in it. You might not be able to experience it all in one lifetime.

What do you see yourself doing in the next few years? You say you like hardware, so would you work with tech support? Or do you see yourself selling electronic parts?

What technologies are you familiar with? And what’s the greatest thing you’ve achieved with computers? There things might give you a few hints about which path to choose.

So hard that I want to shoot him with it.

Tech support was kind of what I was looking towards! Not much retail… I’m familiar with the general computer hardware components, I also have fairly decent knowledge in video cards (I big interest of mine) …but the circuit construction and engineering side of it, intimidates me! ^^

If it were right for you, I think it would fascinate you instead.

You need a degree in computer science to work in the Geek Squad at Best Buy. So being “familiar with the general computer hardware components” sounds like you are not qualified.

I was saying the circuitry and engineering side of IT specifically… I have no intention of going there.