Hero Baleful Eyed

I wrote this last summer, but I haven’t really done anything with it or shown it to anyone. It tries to be like a sonnet, in some ways.

Hero Baleful Eyed

I lament the hero baleful eyed, whose
Sol peeks narrowly through predestined gloom. Fair
Providence has marked him for the tithe that
Fates collect, those melancholy spirits
Old. He gazes askance at the clouds to
Glimpse the Sol denied him, but the Fates brook
No request of mortal’s. They stir winds to
Howl in his youthful list’ning ear; to
One knee he Falls. Unshed tears in his eyes
Shimmer, as his golden heart, in darkness,
Tempers to cold steel. Without remorse he
Rises, apathetic to clouds o’erhead.
I lament the hero baleful eyed, whose
Sol peeks narrowly through predestined gloom.

Xwing1056

Sounds nice. I’m not very good at analyzing poetry, so I can’t give you much in the way of feedback. It doesn’t seem much like a sonnet other than it’s fourteen lines that are about ten syllables each. The volta (last 6 lines) of a sonnet has a slight change in theme from the rest of the poem. Still, it is very nice.

Originally posted by demigod
Sounds nice. I’m not very good at analyzing poetry, so I can’t give you much in the way of feedback. It doesn’t seem much like a sonnet other than it’s fourteen lines that are about ten syllables each. The volta (last 6 lines) of a sonnet has a slight change in theme from the rest of the poem. Still, it is very nice.

Yeah, I meant there to be a turn after the octave, but it doesn’t work like most sonnets’. His fall is the poem’s pivotal moment, so it’s on lines eight and nine. Thanks, I’m glad you liked it.

Xwing1056