Harvest Moon: A Wonderful Life. No, it isn't.

Christ on a cracker, this is the most boringly annoying game I have ever played. The sad thing is, it’s charming! It is! But there are little things that add up to make it excruciatingly annoying.

For example, I need to buy fertilizer, tomato seeds, and turnip seeds. Okay. First I need to time it right, because if I linger on milking the cows for too long (provided they’re giving any milk, but we’re getting to that), the people who sell the seeds will have wandered outside of their house and won’t do any business, meaning it’s very possible to lose a day of growing. Which can be crucial if you’re not careful, since crops only grow in certain season and every season (THANKFULLY, actually) is only ten days. I thought that sounded really short when I started playing the game, since I’m used to the thirty-day seasons of the original HM and Magical Melody. But it’s a blessing. It really is. I’ve made it through one year and a spring and it feels longer than two years in MM.

Anyway. So I catch the people who sell seeds, while they’re still lingering in their houses willing to do some business. Great! This is how shopping works:

1. “Did you want to buy something?”
  2. Yes.
  3. “Okay, what do you want to buy?”
  4. List appears. Chose fertilizer. List disappears.
  5. “Okay. How many do you want?”
  6. Chose the amount.
  7. A cut scene of about five seconds where the salesperson reaches into their pocket, takes out the seeds, hands them to you, and you take the seeds, then put them in your pocket.
  8. “Did you want to buy something else?”
  9. Yes.
  10. Repeat the above with tomato and turnip seeds.

This is kinda cute the first time, but its not when you’ve had to buy a whole bunch of things.