Half-Circle Motions in Fighting Games: Is it just me or...?

So I’ve been playing Guilty Gear since summer 2006 and recently I’ve started to pick up on Street Fighter: Third Strike, as that’s what a lot of people down here normally play. It used to take me forever to get any half-circle motions with the D-Pad to function in Guilty Gear until I started incorporating the analog stick for circular-motions only. And for a time, things were good.

Now Accent Core came out, and I find the circular controlls a little more tighter than usual. Then I pick up on Third Strike, and I can rarely even get the Super Arts (and EX moves) to work even half the time when the meter is just right, in which I don’t belive the analog has anything to do with this.

So my question to all the fans and fanatics of fighting genres out there: What part of your thumb do you use to make the QCF, QCB, HCF, HCB motions? Do you use the tip, the side, the flat, what? And has anyone ever had this much hell in trying to get the simplest of commands to perform?

I find it a bit easier to execute some moves if I hold a control pad on my lap like a joystick configuration - although if I use pads with actual joysticks, I usually fail twice as hard at executing said moves. So, lay the thing down and press the directions with your fingertips.

Anything that involves more then a quarter circle is too advanced for me. And I can’t use a stick in 2d fighers I have to use the d-pad.

I haven’t played a fighter in a while, but I’ve always just used the control pad. In the arcades I could never get the quarter circle moves to work. I just glide my thumb in the direction the move is and voila.