Graduation.

I’m an engineer now. What’s your excuse?

Congratulations to all graduates this spring. Now if you’ll excuse me, I have some rendering to do.

(And by rendering,I mean an incipient hangover. F*ck.)

What does an engineer do?

Isn’t it obvious? He drives trains for a living.

Good on ye man, make sure you blow the horn a couple times for me :slight_smile:

My excuse is that the next available graduation ceremony wont be til this winter.

That said, congrads.

No seriously, con the hell out of those grads.

Make huge piles of money. Grats, Maba! :smiley:

Congrats to all the new graduands!

What’s the next step Maba? Are you looking for a job or are you looking to get an MSc/PhD?

Well, I’ve been in the movie making biz as an intern since last year, and now with the degree done, I’ve got a foothold in a few companies. My thesis was on color correction and producing masters for a variety of media in a movie-type production.

Since different platforms have different requirements for master files (compare digital and film projectors, optical media and plain media files), I needed to look into how one should approach the post production of a movie. By streamlining the process so that you can produce masters for a variety of release platforms, you can save time and money since you can get all products as a part of the same post processing job (no need to master a movie for DVD/Blu-Ray release separately). For instance, I was assisting in the post production of “Hyvä Poika” (The Good Son) and was in charge of looking into different compression formats, like Vimeo’s and Youtube’s. I did a few trailers as well, like this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TjhmLted6u4