Failing a course

Anyone ever done this? Was it a big deal to you, or not?

I just did. What’s horrible is that the professor gave me every chance in the world to recover - he even pushed back the due date for my term paper a month - but in the end, I just couldn’t brink myself to write it. I’m feeling guilty as all fuck now. Does anyone have any experiences similar to this, so I don’t feel like such a douche?

I was getting straight A’s, with one or two B’s at most until 9th grade, then I decided fuck it; got F’s and dropped out in 10th. I didn’t even begin college. Does that make you feel any better?

No, I always drop the class at midterm if I think I’m not doing well enough/can’t stand the teacher/think the class sucks. It’s kinda expensive, but better than hurting my GPA.

But if it makes you feel any better, I have a degree in Graphic Design, working on a BA in Fine Arts with a possible minor in English, and a 3.4 GPA…and I’ll STILL be working in a minimum wage job because my field of study isn’t worth shit in this podunk town. :smiley: :smiley: :smiley:

Let’s see what I’ve failed during my engineer studies:

• The first math course

• The second one
    (I passed the third one with statistics and probabilities)

• The fourth one that deals with a variety of signals and matrixes used in practice, such as editing photos with a math laboratory program

• First physics course (recovered on second year with a resit)

• Second physics course with magnetism, sound, light, etc. Failure mostly due to magnetism and my ability not to remember formulas.

(A course involving Flex/Mobile Flash because I was a stupid git who didn’t return the final course application that was obligatory.)

Edit: Interestingly enough, I haven’t failed a course since I quit working the weekends between studies. Weekends off are a rather powerful motivation tool to keep on going.