Desktop opinions.

Laptop’s monitor is decomposing. I must rely on your collective <small>snicker</small> wisdom to point me towards a good new desktop. Do not suggest that I build my own - I will rip your nuts off, or, if you are female, rip someone else’s off and beat you about the head with them. I do not have the competency to put something together myself. My basic requirements are fairly simple -

-XP, not Vista.
-Good enough to make WoW look pretty and run SC2 when it comes out.
-Price range should be under $1500, I can go up to $2k if I’m not too fond of extra internal organs.

And that’s about it. What companies are good nowadays? I’ve been using a laptop for the past six years, and the last desktop we got before that was in '99. I played around with Dell’s build-a-computer-thing on their website, then stopped after realizing I had no real idea what I was doing.

-XP, not Vista.

That’s a toughie right there. Not many companies are selling XP computers. I believe Dell has one or two, but off the top of my head I can’t think of any others.

You could at worse order a computer with vista from something like Dell and then format it , add a partition and install windows xp. Formating / adding the partition is really easy. You do it with a program called partition magic.

Or do a clean reformat and just let XP go solo if you have a key.

Most sell them with Vista, but provide a recovery CD with Windows XP. Well, some do.

Dell is probably the best choice, seeing as Fujitsu-Siemens isn’t sold in the US.

Except that I’ve had some really terrible dealings with Dell… York U has an exclusive contract with them, and they had all sorts of hardware problems, even on brand new computers. They supposedly have very good customer support, but from what I can tell that’s because they need it. -_-

And of course they’re still more expensive than something like eMachines (my previous computer was an eMachines, and worked just fine for five years).