Aren't you a little short for a Stormtrooper?

This is probably old, but I just recently saw Star Wars: Epidsode III, and decided to revisit the older movies. In Episode IV, when Luke rescues Leia, she says, “Aren’t you a little short for a Stormtrooper?” That sounded really familliar to me, then I went and played FFVI, and realised that Celes says that to Locke if you rescue her with the Imperial uniform still on. Also, Biggs and Wedge frequent all of the FF games, but I believe the two soldiers you start with have those names. However, instead of Biggs, one of them may be Vicks.

Anyway, are there any other real-life references FFVI makes? Or even, mythological references? Because there were about a million in Fire Emblem 7.

I know that in FF9 after Lindblum is attacked, when you’re running around and talking to people that one of them says “Damnit Jim, I’m a doctor not a brick builder!”.

Nice little Star Trek reference.

Hah! I never noticed that one. Very nice. And also:

Gilgamesh:
Gilgamesh was an historical king of Uruk in Babylonia, on the River Euphrates in modern Iraq; he lived about 2700 B.C.

http://www.ffcompendium.com/h/name.shtml

Yeah, that’s like our most popular section. 8p

Vicks was a mistranlation, it should read Biggs in 6, they “fixed” it for the PSX. Square say so too. http://www.ffcompendium.com/h/interview.shtml

Q.Is there a policy regarding translations from previous FFs (for example, the changing of Gurgu Volcano from FF1 into Mount Gulug in FF9)? Is there a desire at all to keep continuity alive in that sense?