An Essay I wrote.

About the Rennaisance faire I went to this past summer. I had to write an essay for class, and I chose this. I’ve never done this before, posting a writing online, but I’m that proud of it. It is long though at over four pages. But Please take the time to read it. Feel free to comment on it, too as there’s always room for improvement.

Edit: note to self- post the essay before clicking submit

The Renaissance Faire

I had never been to the Renaissance Faire before my girlfriend Jami asked (well, told me) to go with her.  I’d never really thought much about it.  I thought it would just be a bunch of people dressed up as peasants, knights, and lords.  And while that’s pretty much what it was, it was so much more.  It was like getting away from the real world for a day, and into a fantasy world.

The big day arrived. We arrived at the grounds at 9:30 am- Jami, Jami’s friend Janette, and me. The Faire didn’t open until 10, so we had some time to kill. The first thing we did was get our tickets. I found it rather amusing when the ticket seller said to me, “G’day, Milord!” in an old English accent. I tried to reply in kind, but all that came out was a slight chuckle and a simple “hello.” As we continued to wait, I took a look around the front grounds. I must admit, I was a bit surprised at the range of costume selections. Besides the obvious peasant, knight, or lord costumes, there were also people dressed up as Vikings, or figures out of fantasy novels, such as fairies, wraiths, barbarians, and even Samurais out of eastern Asia! There was also a group who looked like they came from the colonial US. Seeing these costumes, I didn’t feel quite as out of place dressed as a pirate.