A DQ8 query on weapon choices

Right, so I just started playing DQ8 again and I picked up Angelo just now. I know he gets talent points at an obscenely slow rate, so I was wondering something. When it comes to swords, is Angelo a decent melee fighter, or is he weak to the point that it’s wiser to put his slow-earned points in staves? I’m thinking of foregoing Charisma because the spells don’t look impressive, though I may put some points into it just for Squelch and Fuddle.

Another thing - Jessica. I’m definitely going with Whips, but I need something else. Is Staves or Sex Appeal the better option for spellcasting? How many talent points do the characters get overall?

EDIT: If anyone wants to know my current build, Hero has Sword/Courage, Yangus has Scythe/Humanity, Jessica has Whips, and I just got Angelo.

I’ve found that Sex Appeal is nowhere near as useful as I once thought it was. The skill that makes enemies sometimes lose a turn is useful, so perhaps put enough points into it to get the first one of those. Really, the only other Sex Appeal skill I ever used was Hustle Dance, and I just don’t think it’s worth 100 points if you’re not using everything ELSE. If you want to have Jessica using magic, then put points into Staffs. You may not get to keep all the bonuses if you don’t have a Staff equipped, but you will get to keep the spells she learns from it.

As for Angelo, avoid Charisma, that’s all I can really say. My first playthrough I had pumped loads of points into it, thinking all the character’s unique skillsets were useful, and found it to be absolutely useless. Bows aren’t bad, but if you’re going for offense have him go Sword, and if he’s gonna be a healer primarily, then Staff may be good too to give him some MP bonuses.